Trumbull College is named for Jonathan Trumbull, Governor of Connecticut from 1769 to 1784 and advisor and friend to General George Washington. A Harvard College graduate, Trumbull was the only colonial governor to support the American Revolution. Opened in September 1933, Trumbull College is one of the eight Yale colleges designed by James Gamble Rogers and the only one funded by John W. Sterling. Its Collegiate Gothic buildings form the Sterling Quadrangle, which Rogers planned to harmonize with his adjacent Sterling Memorial Library.

Yale originally planned to name the college after John C. Calhoun, a Yale graduate, U.S. vice president, and secessionist. In deference to Sterling being a Civil War veteran from Connecticut, the university agreed to name the college after Jonathan Trumbull and gave the name Calhoun to another residential college.

In 1968, Yale President Kingman Brewster announced a plan for admitting women to Yale and proposed that Trumbull be turned into housing for freshmen women. Brewster held a “stormy” meeting with Trumbull students, who would have been forced to vacate their college. In response to the protest, Brewster changed his plan and reserved one of the Old Campus dormitories for women. The Trumbull College Council passed a motion “vigorously endorsing with rampant enthusiasm” the revised proposal.

Notable alumni include journalist Anderson Cooper, author John Hersey, and Yale President Benno Schmidt,

See the latest about Trumbull on the Yale website.

George deForest Lord

Master, 1963–1966

Ronald Myles Dworkin

Master, 1966–1969

Memories and Observations

When you log-in, you'll be able to see the "Memories and Observations" submitted by your classmates. Login now!

© 2017-2020 Yale College Class of 1969